top of page

#ThrowbackThursday: The Last One

These photos are from three years ago this past week! It's been three years since I completed my last lengthening - so crazy how fast time goes by.

I remember saying I would probably not do a second lengthening - just one and done. I felt the same way before I lengthened my arms. Looking back now I felt like I was late in the game. It's more common to start lengthening (for dwarfism) around 8 to 10 years old. At almost 17 years old I just made the decision to go ahead and do it because I still have my whole life ahead of me. Then at 18 I had my first year of college coming up and I made the choice to lengthen my arms because I thought, I don't want to look back in a few years and regret not doing this. (SO HAPPY I DID IT ✨) it was during my arm lengthening that I decided I would lengthen my legs a second time. To give you a time line here's how it happened: arm fixator removal two weeks before moving into the dorm, second leg lengthening one week after moving out of the dorm - crazy!! I know! But I wouldn't change a thing.

I get asked a lot "how could you do that? it took so much time out of your life!" and looking back it really didn't. During those times I became the person I am today. I am beyond happy with all the choices I have made and if history could repeat itself I wouldn't do this any differently. 💕

bottom of page