top of page

#ThrowbackThursday: My New ARMor

It was on this day 5 years ago that I had my arm fixators put on! I remember thinking and telling myself, "ohhh I'll probably never do my arms" but after hearing from others who did it and learning how easy it was I decided to do it.

To this day I think lengthening my arms has made the biggest difference. Dealing with feminine hygiene is 1000% easier and like a lot of people with dwarfism I don't have to use the wand (I managed ok without ever needing it but I hear as a lot of little people get older they tend to need it more)

Things I can do now (or that are not a struggle for me to do anymore):

- wipe myself easier/feminine hygiene (sorry if that's TMI)

- wash the top of my hair (and style)

- not slouch

- clothes fit better (I can wear T-shirts and the sleeves don't hit my wrists/long sleeve shirts don't bunch up)

- throw my hair up in a top knot (probably my most favorite thing to do. Not kidding)

- reach things

- sit farther away from the steering wheel

IMO: lengthening your arms is a must and it makes all the difference (only if you decide to lengthen)

and a piece of humerus (LOL!! 😂) advice my sister gave me before l lengthened my arms:

"...if you don't lengthen your arms you'll look like a T-Rex and if you do lengthen them and decide not to lengthen your legs you'll look like a monkey."

bottom of page