top of page

Back to the Beginning

So six years ago today I began this crazy thing called life - really it was 23 - but it was on this day six years ago that I did something that I had only been thinking about doing for as long as I can remember. It was definitely a high stress day. My mom wasn't allowed coffee because I couldn't have any (sorry not sorry.) Surgery got pushed back due to an emergency case, I had my breakdowns, and so on. But I would not take this day back for the world! I know a lot of people don't understand when I say this - but I cannot imagine how my life would be now otherwise. For clarity, I would have needed something done regardless if I wanted to gain any length or not. My legs were SO bowed and my knees and ankles were killing me. Something had to be done. I get criticized a lot for the choice I made but whatever. I didn't just start this page to keep friends and family updated - I started it because at the time there was no updated resource/patient story of someone with achondroplasia (or any other form of dwarfism) who was going through limb lengthening. I love the choice I made, but what I love even more is the impact I know I have made (call me conceited) 😌plus I enjoy saying "my sass was too much for my body" 😘

Never say never. But I never would have imagined that I would... - have a large following - have people messaging me for help and information that could change their life - have friends from all over the world - be an advocate - live on a college campus - share my story at schools, to the news, and in other media - start a group specifically for limb lengthening awareness for dwarfism - be a district director for Little People of America - travel to another country with my doctor and give back to kids that live in impoverished areas a chance at a normal life and a life they deserve. To just have the freedom to run and play - and so much more!

Who knows what my life would have been like had I not made this decision. But that doesn't really matter. What matters is my happiness and most importantly my health and wellness. That's all anyone should want. Never let anyone try to dull your sparkle ✨ or tell you how they think you should live your life. 💜💜💜

Thank you everyone for following me these last six years!! It means so much to me :)

bottom of page